Governance Advisory Board


The board advises and monitors Te Ira Kāwai – Auckland Regional Tissue Bank (ARTB) activities in line with the University of Auckland policy on units, centres and institutes, and tikanga o mana whenua.

With its regional focus, the ARTB is committed to including representation from mana whenua, contributing institutions, and the community.

Board members


Current Membership
Community representative Pru Etcheverry, Chair
Dean, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences Professor John Fraser
Chief Medical Officer, Counties Manukau District Health Board Dr Gloria Johnson
Chief Medical Officer, Auckland District Health Board Dr Margaret Wilsher
Chief Medical Officer (delegated), Waitemata District Health Board Dr Matt Rogers
Tissue banking expert Dr Anne Thompson
Community representative David Mace
Ex officio  
Clinical Director, ARTB Professor Peter Browett
Manager, ARTB Phillip Shepherd
Strategic Engagement Manager, Auckland Academic Health Alliance Megan Putterill
Group Services Manager, School of Medical Sciences Bruce Rattray