Te Ira Kāwai – Auckland Regional Tissue Bank(ARTB) is a partnership between the University of Auckland and all three Auckland metropolitan district health boards. We consulted widely with iwi nationally, regionally and locally when setting up the ARTB.

The ARTB is governed by the University of Auckland through the Dean of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences with representation from the community, mana whenua, researchers and the health sector on all governance groups

The governance of ARTB includes the following boards and groups:

Tangata whenua are represented at all levels in the ARTB.

Governance Advisory Board.

Barry Smith (Te Rarawa and Ngati Kahu)

Tereki Stewart (Nga Puhi)

Dame Naida Glavish (Ngati Whatua)

Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Papaarangi Reid, Tumuaki and Head of Te Kupenga Hauora Māori at the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, University of Auckland (Te Rarawa)

Maui Hudson, Waikato University (Whakatōhea, Ngā Ruahine and Te Māhurehure)

Dr Helen Wihongi, Auckland District Health Board, Waitemata DHB (Ngati Porou, Nga Puhi)

Dr Robin Quigg, (Raukawa)